Middle Class – lifestyle or a suffocating mindset???

✏️✏️✏️ Few reflections on life and lessons learned✏️✏️✏️

PS: they are simply reflections.. People may entertain disparity. And NO OFFENCE intended. I am from middle class too.

Middle class….

The term doesn’t simply connote with financial aspects of lifestyles, it doesn’t mean living in four-walled confining apartments and making both ends meet, either easily or with countless strife. It doesn’t even epitomize that living with limited range of luxuries and prestige in life.

Middle class is also a state of mind. A state in which a person is as much in inertia instinctively as he is in physical living. I have, many a times, come across my posh class friends using term “middle class” with a very specific disdain and smirk. I never asked them the reason, but I had always been driven into ponder by my tempting curiosity.

What I have learned through observation is that middle class is a state of mind. People are never financially limited, or rather if they are, that limitation is only temporary. People whose mindset revolves around this belief, seldom have high goals in life. Mostly they wanna succeed getting a job so their life (or rather rest of the life) is spent in relative peace from financial worries. Actually, their financial worries are the product of their middle class thinking.

This mentality is accused of keeping people stay at bay from taking risk, from enduring pain for higher gain and from cherishing high goals in life.

It is this mentality for which many students or learners seek free guidance ignoring the fact and not giving respect to the fact that a person they wanna seek free of cost guidance must have gone through strife, pain and financial sacrifices to acquire such levels of mastery.

I am personally repulsed by such demeanor not because of financial aspects but for the thinking that inhibits an individual from exploring their true strengths and, thus, willfully striving to get to higher levels of their success.

It’s not that I wanna blow my own trumpet, but I remember the time when I had only fifty rupees in my pocket and I found a book on a second hand book seller’s hawk. I had to choose either to go home for I had not enough money to cover book cost and my bus fare or else buy the book and trudge back 10 km home.

Well, I decided to trudge back home because something inside warned me if the books wouldn’t be available the very next day.

Things I have learned in life through humiliating failures, many wrong decisions and countless strife.

One thing I am damn sure of is if you have passion then money doesn’t mean anything. You can sacrifice your luxureis of current mediocre life to attain prestige of higher living. You can endure pain of hunger, can swallow the bitter bite of smothering your minion desires for higher goals, and can spend your money to upgrade your skill set for future bright life. Once you have followed your passion, then its the job of your passion to return back all you invested with lucrative interest and prestigious social status.

Usually our middle class living smothers one thing in our youth………… Our passion.

I am thankful that my dad and mom, though remained working class throughout, gave me freedom and taught me to be a river not an ocean and taught me to be a bird who soars high and high.

Just an extemporaneous revelation expressed candidly. Nothing else. And hence, must have some errors in hiding.

At times silence and solitude are more revealing than being in company of learned men and accomplished people.

Published by Positive Parenting

an introvert who views and observes nature and worldly matters from an unbiased distance. with reading addiction and a passionate pen to write, I always try to utilize my skills to deliver things that can bring betterment and goodness in lives of many. a philanthropist - or at least a kind of.

Leave a comment